IT’S HALF TERM!

It’s finally half term! Happy half term everybody!

After a busy 2 weeks of teaching, I’m really looking forward to a week off and having a  break back at home. The last 2 weeks have been a mixture of really positive experiences, as well as a few challenging ones!

On Monday 1st February I went on a trip with two children in my class to a maths day for ‘more able’ pupils. It was a great day as I got to know the children even better and got to witness some really good maths teaching – some of the problem solving activities I saw I’ll definitely be using with my class. The children we took were Year 1; however, the rest of the children there were Year 2. The children did really well and I felt so proud of them!

One of the big challenges over the last couple of weeks has been managing the behaviour in my class. Although there’s only 21 children, they’re quite a challenging bunch! It’s quite natural for children to try and push the boundaries or test the water when they get a new teacher. There was a moment on Tuesday where I began to really doubt myself as the children’s behaviour just seemed to be getting worse and worse. However, I knew that it wasn’t only me the children were playing up for and on Wednesday, the deputy head, class teacher and I, had a serious chat with the children. Since then we’ve been trying really hard to keep on top of behaviour by following the schools behaviour policy – and let’s just say there have been a lot of missed break-times! But, I’m happy to say that there has been a change in behaviour (for the better) overall and I’m looking forward to seeing all the children again after half term and giving them a fresh start when we start our new topic called ‘marvellous medics’!

A

Leave a Reply

